Learn and Have Fun at York Museums and Landmarks

Located beside the Atlantic Ocean on the southwest corner of Maine, York is a popular summer resort town. It is home to Mount Agamenticus; miles of beaches including Long Sands Beach, Short Sands Beach, Passaconaway Beach and Harbor Beach; and a number of York museums. While staying at a beautiful York bed and breakfast, have fun while learning new things from these York museums and historic landmarks.

Museums of Old York
Old York Historical Society
207 York Street
York, Maine 03909
(207) 363-4974
www.oldyork.org

Founded over 100 hundred years ago, the Old York Historical Society operates Museums of Old York in order to preserve the history and artifacts of the area. They feature 37 period room settings and a number of galleries located in 9 historic museum buildings easily accessible from your York inn.

Remick Barn

Constructed in 1834, The Remick Barn is a Yankee-style barn with a big percentage of the original structure still intact even if it is no longer used for agricultural purposes. Once owned by the Remick family, it is now a visitor and education center. The barn is also a venue for special programs, concerts and exhibits such as "A York Sampler: Selections from the Past."

Jefferds' Tavern

A Colonial era hostelry, Jefferds' Tavern was originally built on the King's Highway just north of York in 1750. It was disassembled and restored in the 1940s on the corner of Raydon Road and York Street. Nineteen years later, it was moved to its current location. Today, the tavern is one of the many York museums and landmarks, showcasing Georgian style doors and paneling, a restored taproom, a cooking fireplace and beehive brick oven and 19th century-style wall murals.

Old Schoolhouse

Originally built in 1745, this one-room schoolhouse was a venue for learning for the children of York's Cider Hill area for almost 100 years. Today, it continues to be a place where children can learn about how education was during the 18th century through hands-on exhibits and first-person interpretations.

Emerson-Wilcox House

Constructed in 1742 by George Ingraham, the Emerson-Wilcox House became a general store, a stage tavern, a tailor shop, a post office, a home and a museum during its years of existence. Today, it displays the Museum's collection of 17th, 18th and early 19th century regional furniture and noteworthy ceramic collections, all originally owned by York families.

Old Gaol

This gaol was built in 1719 using materials salvaged from the original structure constructed in 1656. Besides its dungeons and cells for debtors and felons, the Old Gaol also has space for the turnkey and his family, which consists of 2 adjoining rooms, a parlor and a hall. Once the prison for the entirety of Maine, it is now "museum of colonial relics" where visitors can see galleries chronicling the building's history.

John Hancock Wharf

Thought to be constructed in the 1740s, the John Hancock Warehouse is the sole-standing commercial building from York's Colonial period.  What was likely once used as the Customs House for the York's District Port is now a venue exhibiting the town's maritime heritage. It also hosts annual events such as "Fourth on the Wharf."